Yarn along 3/15 – All WIPs

yarn-along-3-header

Today I’m going to show you all this stuff that I’ve been working on and that are WIPs or in some cases rather UFOs that I want to finish in 2015. I know I already talked about them last week but this week I have pictures for you as well.

I’m going to start with my Aiken sweater. I told you about the sizing topic in my last Yarn Along post. Since I started it around New Year’s, I have been going strong on it. The body is now finished. I bound off my hemline stitches with a special methods that is rather sewn and not knit. In my directions that I have it is called the Italian Cast off method. When I google this I get something similar on youtube but not exactly the same. It basically is a very stretchy bind off that only works with k1,p1 hemlines. It does take lots of time but I think it looks quite nice. Now I need to integrate the sleeves. And when I look at the yarn that I have left I’m pretty positive to get about medium long sleeves out of it.

black-red-socks

I’m also working on my Q socks. I want to finish those time eaters. Every time I have time enough to knit a full pattern repeat (14 rows but feeling like 100) I do so. I need two more pattern repeats before starting to turn the heel and from there on some concentration on making the cubes slowly disappear on the upper front.

hexipuffs-2015

Next to a knitting resolution for 2015 (again like in 2013 and 2014, yes I know…). What I want to do is to knit a hexipuff a day. So far this works well but also because I counted the ones that I did over the holidays into 2015 already. They are a great project when travelling because I can take several mini skeins with me in this tiny glasses bag and knit one at a time. Of course I then need to close them without filling and reopen them at home to fill them, but that’s ok.

oversized-sweater

Now to some dormant projects: The oversized sweater is the way I left it in 2014. Eventually, probably when I have finished the Aiken sweater, I will move back to this project. Or maybe I will move directly on to some more summery knits that lie dormant here too, like the Pin tuck Tee that I forgot to take a picture of this morning.

lace-cowl

When rummaging through my project bags I also found this lace cowl I started to match the girls’ dresses. I did not put it yet into ravelry and didn’t save the pattern in my library so at the moment I have absolutely no idea what the pattern was called. But I’m going to look it up for next week. I’m not too sure if I want to continue with this cowl as I don’t know if I want to make one for each girl for next year and otherwise I don’t know who to give it too as the rest of my turquoise skein will only last long enough to make a small child’s cowl. Maybe I rip this out and turn all the left overs into something completely else. We’ll see.

tree-of-light-lace-shawl

Last but not least there is the “ever since I bought that yarn long term project” called Tree of light shawl… It has been sleeping in a drawer for quite some time now but I think when I have finished the socks which are a high concentration project I could move back to the shawl so it gets finished one day.

As for reading I am currently reading a book Michael got for his birthday which is called “Kruso” by Lutz Seiler. It is a highly awarded book from last year and said to be very poetical. To be honest, to me it feels like one of these “high literature” books that I read about once a year to be able to say I did something for my education. It is ok so far but I honestly enjoy entertaining books more…

Joining with Ginny and the Yarn Along ladys.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Yarn along 3/15 – All WIPs

Leave a Reply

